The Governing body comprises at least 10 volunteer charity trustees drawn from a range of backgrounds and experience.

The Board is responsible for setting the strategic direction of the College and its overall functioning.

The Board is a team with a broad blend of skills. It meets six times per year to consider strategic developments and systematic monitoring of College performance.

Our Governors

Timothy S Richmond OBE


Tim joined the Board of Governors in 2014. He is a Chartered Accountant. For the past 17 years, he has been self-employed as a consultant in strategic business direction and management. He is the Non-Executive Chairman of Nottingham and Nottinghamshire Futures Limited.

Jim Aleander MA Cert Ed

Vice Chair and Learner Voice Lead

Jim joined the Board in 1996. He is a former principal of colleges in the Further Education sector, including West Nottinghamshire College. He now runs his own education consultancy business, focused mainly on vocational education and training.

Alan Earnshaw

Audit Committee Chair

Alan joined the Board in 1993. He has worked as a director of several companies in England and overseas. He chairs the Audit Committee and is Non-Executive Chair of the Enterprises Board. Alan is a member of both the Finance & Development Working Groups and an Honorary President of the Old Students Assoc.

Thal Vasishta LLB (hons)

Chair of Staff Council

Thalej joined the Board in 2014. As a solicitor and CEO of Paragon Law Thalej works primarily with UK companies wishing to employ skilled foreign nationals and overseas companies and individuals seeking to invest in or trade with the UK. He has previously been a board member of The Racial Equality Council.

Dean Fathers Lead Governor Corporate Governance

Dean joined the Board in 2017 when he was also Chair of ULHT. He is Chair of Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust, on the Boards of both NHS Providers and the Greater Lincolnshire LEP,also a NED with the Parliamentary & Health Services Ombudsman.

Harvinder Atwal

Chair of Portland College Enterprises Ltd

Harvinder joined the Board in 2015. She is the Managing Director of bksb Limited, a West Nottinghamshire College owned business which has become the most successful online skills assessment and development company for functional skills/GCSEs in the UK.

Nicholas Aspley LLB (Hons)


Nick joined the Board of Governors in January 2015. He is a solicitor and partner in a leading local multi-office law firm. He has worked in the local area for nearly 30 years and specialises in family law. He is a past member of the Law Society’s Family Law Panel.

Shaun Walsh BA (Hons) FCA

Chair of Oversight of Finance Group

Shaun joined the Board in 2015. He is a former Price Waterhouse Coopers Chartered Accountant and Finance Director. As Managing Partner of Business Growth Services Ltd he leads a team which helps business owners turnaround, raise finance and grow their business.

Dr. Dawn Green PhD CertEd

Chair of the Oversight of Standards Group and Lead Governor for Safeguarding

Dawn joined the Board in 2015. Previously Principal & CEO at Landmarks College and Vice Principal at Portland College, Dawn is now the Karten Network Manager and provides consultancy services in whole college/school improvement & behaviour support.

Peter Emerson

Peter joined the Board in 2017. Peter was the Chief Operating Officer for Severfield Rowen Plc and Managing Director of Watson steel. He now works as a consultant in the Construction industry and for Laing O’Rourke Ltd.

Amanda Farr MSc(Oxon) DL

Amanda joined the Board in 2018. She has worked in NHS rehabilitation and mental health services for most of her career, latterly leading county primary care mental health services. She has been a visiting lecturer at Nottingham and Oxford Universities.

Sarah Egley RGN BA(hons) MA

Sarah joined the Board in 2018. She is Assistant Director Quality Governance and Assurance for Derbyshire Community Health Services NHS Trust.

David Sneath

David Sneath is a recently retired senior employment tribunal judge. He has extensive Reserve Army experience at the rank of Colonel. A past High Sheriff of Nottinghamshire (2010-11) and a current Deputy Lieutenant.